ACC appoints three IRTS officer as Additional Member Railway Board

Ministry of Railways
Ministry of Railways

The Appointment Committee of Cabinet has empanelled three IRTS officers as Additional Member, Railway Board.

Ajay Shukla (IRTS:1980), Adviser (Commercial), has been appointed as Additional Member (Commercial). Kundan Sinha (IRTS:1980), Adviser (T&T), has been appointed as Additional Member (Traffic & Transportation). Mohammad Jamshed (IRTS:1979), Chief Operating Manager, Northern Railway, has been appointed as Additional Member (Communication & Information System).

The ACC has also directed the Railway Ministry to get the panel of Additional Member approved in advance so that such situation could be averted in future. In fact Railway Board did not had any eligible candidate to hold the additional charge of Member (Traffic) after the retirement of D P Pandey; the outgoing Member (Traffic)

Sridharan report on Railway Board, submitted recently, had also suggested in its report that Railway Board should be ready with an advance succession plan so that no crucial post remains vacant.