Parshottam Rupala starts Sagar Parikrama Phase X

Sagar Parikrama Phase X
Sagar Parikrama Phase X

Union Minister for Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying, Shri Parshottam Rupala is set to commence the Sagar Parikrama Phase X . During this phase, the Union Minister will travel aboard a Coast Guard Ship from Chennai to enter the coastal areas of Andhra Pradesh, engaging with fishers and stakeholders in the fisheries sector.

Shri Parshottam Rupala aims to interact with fishers to understand their issues and suggestions, inform them about government schemes, and distribute certificates/sanctions related to schemes like Pradhan Mantri Matsya Sampada Yojana (PMMSY), Fisheries and Aquaculture Infrastructure Development Fund (FIDF), Kisan Credit Card (KCC), etc.

On October 14, 2023, the Union Minister and other dignitaries will visit Krishnapatnam and Nellore district in Andhra Pradesh, participating in events and interactions. The focus will be on issuing Kisan Credit Cards (KCC) to fishers and fish farmers, with camps organized for this purpose in Nellore District.

Officials from the Department of Fisheries, Government of Andhra Pradesh, along with representatives from various fisheries-related organizations, will participate in the Sagar Parikrama Phase X. Fishers, fishermen representatives, fish farmers, entrepreneurs, fishermen cooperative society leaders, professionals, scientists, and other stakeholders are expected to join the interactions during the journey. Andhra Pradesh, with its 972 km long coastline, is rich in marine, brackish water, and inland fisheries resources. The state plays a significant role in marine fish production, supporting the livelihoods of millions through various fishing activities.

The Sagar Parikrama initiative is a journey along the coastal belt, fostering solidarity among fisherfolk and stakeholders. It aims to understand on-ground challenges and problems faced by the fishing community while promoting government schemes for economic upliftment. The journey has covered several coastal states and union territories, including Gujarat, Diu & Daman, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, and Andaman & Nicobar Islands, addressing challenges and disseminating information about fisheries-related schemes and programs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.