Schedule for General Elections in 5 States

Election Commission of India (ECI)
Election Commission of India (ECI)

The terms of the Legislative Assemblies of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh are normally due to expire as follows:

  1. Goa 18.03.2017
  2. Manipur 18.03.2017
  3. Punjab 18.03.2017
  4. Uttarakhand 26.03.2017
  5. Uttar Pradesh 27.05.2017

By virtue of its powers, duties and functions under Article 324 read with Article 172(1) of the Constitution of India and Section 15 of Representation of the People Act, 1951, the Commission is required to hold general elections to constitute the new Legislative Assemblies in the States of Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh before expiry of their present terms. As per the established practice, the Election Commission holds the General Elections to the Legislative Assemblies of the States whose terms expire around the same time, together.



part-ii-the-schedule-for-the-general-elections-to-the-legislative-assemblies-of-goa-manipur-punjab-uttarakhand-and-uttar-pradesh-indian-bureaucracy wishes the Election Commission of India and the Legislative candidates it’s very best. Hope we have a corruption free, violence free and a clean & fair Elections.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.