Parliament Monsoon Session dates from July 18 to August 12, 2016


The Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs recommended convening of Monsoon session of Parliament this year from July 18 till August 12, 2016 subject to exigencies of government business. This was informed by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Shri M.Venakaiah Naidu to media persons after the meeting of CCPA, held soon after the Cabinet meeting .

Shri Naidu further stated that the ensuing Monsoon session will have a total of 20 sittings over a duration of 26 days.

Giving details of the meeting he held with about 30 Ministers to discuss legislative agenda for the coming session of Parliament, Shri Naidu said that there are 11 Bills pending in Lok Sabha and 45 Bills pending in Rajya Sabha. He said that the  Ministers have been asked to take necessary action in respect of the pending and new Bills to be introduced by the third of next month so as to ensure that about 20 to 25 Bills could be taken up for introduction, consideration and passing.

Talking to media persons, Shri Venkaiah Naidu expressed hope that the GST Bill would be passed during the ensuing Monsson session of Parliament. He said “there is a broad consensus on GST Bill with almost all the State Governments and political parties favouring the Bills. If some parties still have some issues, the Government is keen to discuss the same. Given the importance of the Bill, it would be appropriate if GST Bill could be passed unanimously. As Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, I prefer consensus on such important Bill before exploring other options. Introduction of GST is in the larger national interest and I appeal to all parties to support it”.

Three Bills are to be taken up in the coming Monsoon session to replace three Ordinances viz.,

1.The Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2016;

  1. The Dentists (Amendment) Ordinance, 2016 (Both relate to exemption this year from National Eligibility cum Entrance Test); and
  2. The Enemy Properties (Amendment and Validation) Third Ordinance,2016.

            The 11 Bills pending in Lok Sabha are:

1.The Factories (Amendment) Bill,2014;

2.The Electricity (Amendment) Bill,2014;

3.The Lok Pal and Lokayuktas and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Bill,2014;

4.The Merchant Shipping (Amendment) Bill,2015;

5.The Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Development (Amendment) Bill,2015;

6.The Consumer Protection Bill,2015;

7.The Benami Transactions (Prohibition) Amendment Bill,2015.

  In respect of these 7 Bills, the Department Related Standing Committees have presented their reports:

8.The Indian Trust (Amendment) Bill,2015 (agreeing to of amendments made by Rajya Sabha)

9.The Companies (Amendment) Bill, 2016 (referred to Standing Committee)

10.The Enforcement of Security Interest and Recovery of Debts Laws and Miscellaneous Provisions (Amendment) Bill,2016 (referred to Joint Committee); and

11.The Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Bill,2015.

Some of the 45 Bills pending in Rajya Sabha are:

1.The Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Bill, 1987 (as reported by Joint Committee);

(Bills passed by Lok Sabha)

2.The Whistle Blowers Protection (Amendment) Bill,2015;

3.The Compensatory Afforestation Fund Bill,2016

4.The Regional Centre for Biotechnology Bill,2016;

(Bills as passed by Lok Sabha and reports presented by Select Committee of Rajya Sabha)

5.The Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty Second Amendment) Bill,2014 –GST Bill;

6.The Enemy Property (Amendment and Validation) Bill,2016;

(Bill referred to Select Committee)

7.The Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill,2013;

(Bills on which reports were presented by Standing Committees -34 Bills)

8.The Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Amendment Bill,2012;

9.The Right of Persons with Disabilities Bill,2014; and

10.The Pesticides Management Bill, 2008.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.