NITI Aayog replaces Planning Commission

Govt of India
Govt of India

The Narendra Modi government began the New Year replacing the 65-year- old Planning Commission with a new institution named NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog, where the prime minister would continue as chairperson of the revamped body and have state chief ministers as part of the governing council.

“The institution will serve as a ‘think tank’ of the government – a directional and policy dynamo. NITI Aayog will provide governments at the central and state levels with relevant strategic and technical advice across the spectrum of key elements of policy,” a union cabinet release here said.

The NITI Aayog will have regional councils to “address specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a region. These will be formed for a specified tenure,” the statement added.

Elaborating on the rationale for the revamping the planning body as the many forces transforming India, the government said the industry and service sectors have developed and are operating on a global scale now.

Earlier this month, in a meeting with chief ministers here, Modi said the Planning Commission should be replaced by an organisation that thinks creatively, strengthens the federal structure, and is able to energize governance at the state level.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.