M Venkaiah Naidu to review progress of urban missions in N-E States


Minister of Urban Development and Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation Shri M Venkaiah Naidu will review the progress of new urban missions in the eight States of North-Eastern region during the day long stock taking in Guwahati tomorrow.

 Secretaries of both the urban ministries, National Mission Directors of new urban missions launched by the central government and senior officials have already reached Guwahati for official level review with  State Level Mission Directors and other senior officials of States.

Chief Ministers and Ministers of Urban Development and Municipal Affairs and Housing would join the review by Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu tomorrow.

Implementation of Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana (Urban), Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) and Smart City Mission, all launched on June 25, 2015 and Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban) launched on October 2, 2014 besides the continuing  10% Lump Sum Scheme for North-East and North-Eastern Region Urban Development Programme will be reviewed over today and tomorrow.

Under PMAY (Urban), Ministry of HUPA has approved construction of 99,940 affordable houses for urban poor in the eight States of N-E during the last two years as against 31,778 sanctioned during ten years between 2004-14 under JNNURM and Rajiv Awas Yojana. Of these houses sanctioned during 2004-14, only 20,991 houses were constructed.

            Details of affordable houses sanctioned for N-E States are:

State No of houses sanctioned under JNNURM No of houses sanctioned under RAY No of houses sanctioned under PMAY (Urban) since 2015
Arunachal Pradesh 1,172 1,536        70
Assam 6,583   – 24,353
Manipur 4,079   –   9,748
Meghalaya 1,232   –         48
Mizoram 3,046     142 10,314
Nagaland 6,265 1,054 12,506
Sikkim    293    –           1
Tripura 3,371 3,005 42,900
Total 26,041 5,737 99,940

Under PMAY(Urban), central government provides an assistance in the range of Rs.1.00 lakh to Rs.2.40 lakh per each beneficiary.

  12 towns of N-E States have been included in the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation for Urban Transformation (AMRUT) for providing water taps to all urban households besides improving water supply to the normative level of 135 litres per capita per day, expanding sewerage and drainage networks, promoting non-motorised transport and development of open spaces in mission cities.

 N-E towns included in AMRUT are:

Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar

Assam: Guwahati, Dibrugarh, Naogaon and Silchar

Manipur: Imphal

Meghalaya : Shillong

Mizoram: Aizawl,

Nagaland: Dimapur and Kohima

Sikkim: Gangtok

Tripura: Agartala.

 Under AMRUT, Ministry of Urban Development supports 90% of the project costs in N-E States as against only one third to half of the project costs in other States.

8 N-E towns have been included under Smart City Mission. Of these 5 towns viz., Guwahati, Imphal, Agartala, Kohima and Namchi(Sikkim) have been selected for financing through competition. Pasighat (Arunachal Pradesh), Shillong and Mizoram are participating in the third round of smart city competition.

Ministry of Urban Development provides an assistance of Rs.500 cr per each smart city over a period of five years.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.