108 Villages Electrified last week under DDUGJY


108 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 16th to 22nd May 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages, 6 villages belong to Arunachal Pradesh , 26   in Assam, 31 in Jharkhand, 2 in Rajasthan, 8 in Madhya Pradesh , 3 in Uttar Pradesh , 2 in Bihar, 3 in Chhattisgarh, 26 in Odisha ,  and 1 in Himachal Pradesh . The progress of ongoing electrification process can be tracked on http://garv.gov.in/dashboard .

An update on ongoing electrification process

In view of the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s address to nation, on Independence Day, Government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 unelectrified villages within 1000 days i.e. by 01st May, 2018.  The project has been taken on mission mode and strategy for electrification consists of squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and alsodividing village electrification process in 12 Stage milestones with defined timelines for monitoring.

7,874 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 10,578 villages, 455 villages are uninhabited.  6,830 villages are to be electrified through grid, 2,932 villages to be electrified through off- grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 361 villages are to be electrified by State Govt own. Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 6,220 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 22nd May ,2016.   In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis  like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.