Revenue Deficit Grant of 7,183.42 Cr released to 14 States

finance ministry
finance ministry

The Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance has on Friday released the 2nd monthly instalment of Post Devolution Revenue Deficit (PDRD) Grant of Rs. 7,183.42 crore to 14 States.  The grant has been released as per the recommendations of the Fifteenth Finance Commission.

The Fifteenth Finance Commission has recommended a total Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant of Rs. 86,201 crore to 14 States for the financial year 2022-23. The recommended grant will be released by the Department of Expenditure to the recommended States in 12 equated monthly instalments. With this release, the total amount of Revenue Deficit Grants released to the States in 2022-23 has gone up to Rs. 14,366.84 crore.

The Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grants are provided to the States under Article 275 of the Constitution.  The grants are released to the States as per the recommendations of the successive Finance Commissions to meet the gap in Revenue Accounts of the States post devolution.

The eligibility of States to receive this grant and the quantum of grant for the period from 2020-21 to 2025-26 was decided by the Fifteenth Commission based on the gap between assessment of revenue and expenditure of the State after taking into account the assessed devolution during this period.

The States which have been recommended Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant by the Fifteenth Finance Commission during 2022-23 are: Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

State-wise details of Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant recommended for 2022-23 and the amount released to States as 2nd installment are as under:


State-wise Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grants (PDRDG) released


(Rs in crore)

S.No. Name of State PDRDG recommended by FC-XV for the year 2022-23. 2nd installment released for the month of May, 2022.
1 Andhra Pradesh 10,549 879.08
2 Assam 4,890 407.50
3 Himachal Pradesh 9,377 781.42
4 Kerala 13,174 1097.83
5 Manipur 2,310 192.50
6 Meghalaya 1,033 86.08
7 Mizoram 1,615 134.58
8 Nagaland 4,530 377.50
9 Punjab 8,274 689.50
10 Rajasthan 4,862 405.17
11 Sikkim 440 36.67
12 Tripura 4,423 368.58
13 Uttarakhand 7,137 594.75
14 West Bengal 13,587 1132.25


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.