Padma Awards announced honouring 85 individuals

The President has approved the awards for 85 individuals, which includes 3 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 73 Padma Shri. Fourteen of the awardees are women and 3 persons have been awarded posthumously. Prominent citizens from each of the 10 ASEAN member countries are among the 16 foreigners named for the Award.

The second highest civilian award Padma Vibhushan has been conferred upon, Well-known classical singer Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan, ace music composer Ilaiyaraaja and Litterateur P Parameswaran.

In sports personalities, former India cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and multiple world champion cueist Pankaj Advani have been conferred with the third-highest civilian award, Padma Bhushan.

Besides the duo, 2017 World Weightlifting Champion Saikhom Mirabai Chanu and former Asian Games gold medallist tennis player Somdev Devvarman have been conferred with the Padma Shri.

Keeping its promise of honouring “unsung heroes”, the government has this year announced Padma Shri awards for personalities who served the poor, set up free schools and popularised tribal arts globally.

Kerala’s medical messiah M R Rajagopal, Scientist toy-maker Arvind Gupta and proponent of herbal medicine Lakshmikutty, Gond artist Bhajju Shyam, freedom fighter Sudhanshu Biswas are among those selected for the award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *