Opening of University in South Kashmir

Smriti Irani
Smriti Irani

As per the provisions of the Constitution, Education as a subject is on the Concurrent List (List III) of the Seventh Schedule. Hence setting up new universities and other institutions is the responsibility of both the state as well as Central Government. The Central government has already opened two Central Universities in Jammu & Kashmir; one in Jammu and the second in Kashmir. As of now there is no plan to further open any new Central University in South Kashmir or in Jammu & Kashmir.
However, recognizing the needs of higher education, the Central Government has launched the Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), which seeks to expand the institutional base by creating additional capacity in existing institutions and establish new institutions in order to correct regional imbalances and provide access to quality education in unserved and underserved areas.

Based on the State Higher Education Plan (SHEP) submitted by the state of Jammu & Kashmir under RUSA, the Central Government has approved setting up of two universities by clustering of colleges at Srinagar and Jammu. In addition, two new professional colleges at Kathua and Ganderbal; upgradation of existing colleges to model degree colleges at Shopian, Samba and Ganderbal; infrastructure grants to the University of Jammu and University of Kashmir; infrastructure grants to 22 colleges; and support for vocationalisation of higher education in 20 colleges have also been approved under RUSA.

This information was given by the Union Human Resource Development Minister, Smt. Smriti Irani in a written reply to the Rajya Sabha question. wishes the very best.