Dr. M.K. Iyer assumes charge as member of CERC

Dr. M.k. Iyer
Dr. M.k. Iyer

Dr. M.K. Iyer has taken over as a Member of Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) today, the oath of office & secrecy being administered by the Shri Piyush Goyal, Minister of State (IC) for Power, Coal & New and Renewable Energy in the presence of senior officers of the Ministry of Power and CERC.

Born on 6.2.1955 ,Dr Iyer, holds a B.Sc (Physics) and MBA (Finance) degrees and PhD in Management. He was Member (Finance) in Gujarat Electricity Regulatory Commission for the last 5 years. Prior to this, he worked in senior management position in Gujarat Electricity Board.

About CERC: The Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) had been established by the Government of India under the provisions of the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998. CERC is the Central Commission for the purposes of the Electricity Act, 2003 which has repealed the ERC Act. 1998. The Commission consists of a Chairperson and four other Members including Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority who is the ex-officio Member of the Commission.

Major functions of CERC under the Act are, inter-alia, to regulate the tariff of generating companies owned or controlled by the Central Government, to regulate the tariff of other generating companies having a composite scheme for generation and sale of electricity in more than one State, to regulate inter-State transmission of electricity and to determine tariff for such transmission of electricity, etc. Under the Act, CERC shall also advise the Central Government on formulation of National Electricity Policy and Tariff Policy; promotion of competition, efficiency and economy in activities of electricity industry; promotion of investment in electricity industry; and any other matter referred to the Central Commission by the Government. More: http://www.cercind.gov.in/

IndianBureaucracy.com wishes Dr Iyer our very best.


    • Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC)
      3 rd & 4 th Floor, Chanderlok Building, 36, Janpath,Delhi,New Delhi,110001
      Website : http://cercind.gov.in
      Shri Piyush Goyal
      Minister of State (Independent Charge)
      piyush.goyal@nic.in +91-11-23717474, 23710411
      +91–23710065 (Fax)
      Shri Shantanu P. Gotmare
      Private Secretary +91-11-23717474,23710411
      +91–23710065 (Fax)
      Shri Pradeep Kumar Pujari
      secy-power@nic.in +91-11-23710271,23711316
      +91–23721487 (Fax)
      Shri B. N. Sharma
      Additional Secretary +91-11-23710199
      Shri Bhagwati Prasad Pandey
      Additional Secretary +91-11-23715378
      Dr. Pradeep Kumar
      Joint Secretary & Financial Advisor
      pradeep.kumar87@nic.in +91-11-23710171
      Dr. Arun Kumar Verma
      Joint Secretary
      arun.verma@nic.in +91-11-23714367
      Shri Satish Kumar
      Joint Secretary
      satish@apdrp.nic.in 91-11-23716020
      Smt. Jyoti Arora
      Joint Secretary
      j.arora@nic.in +91-11-23710389
      Shri Anil Kumar Singh
      Joint Secretary
      singh.anilkr@nic.in +91-11-23714842

Leave a Reply