Centre initiates safe-city plan for women in 8 metro cities

Centre initiates safe-city

The Centre has initiated the process of formulating comprehensive ‘safe-city’ plans for women in eight metropolitan cities of the country. The plan will be implemented in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Lucknow and Hyderabad.

An official release said, a Steering Committee meeting was held on Wednesday, under the chairmanship of Union Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba. During the meeting, a comprehensive review was undertaken to gaugue the progress and examine steps taken by the police and civil administration for women’s safety.

It was decided that the police and municipal corporations of these metropolitan cities will frame a plan of action. The plan will be forwarded by the respective State Level Committee headed by the Chief Secretary of the state.

The plan of action, to be submitted within a month, will be assessed by the Steering Committee headed by the Home Secretary, which will make suitable recommendations.The release said, other issues discussed during the meeting include, 33 per cent reservation for women in police, installation of CCTV cameras, emergency response system.

Besides, issues like police verified public transport, prevention of cyber crime and crime-prone areas were also discussed. The use of social media platforms for women’s safety was also emphasised during the meeting.

Related articles:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *