V Narayanan takes charge as Director | Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre

V Narayanan

Senior ISRO scientist Dr V Narayanan has assumed charge as Director of the space agency’s Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), at nearby Valiamala.He succeeds S Somanath who has been appointed Director, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre.

Shri Narayanan is a rocket propulsion expert, joined ISRO in 1984 and functioned in various capacities.As Project Director for C25 Cryogenic Project, he lead the team that successfully developed the C25 Cryogenic Stage powered by a 20 tonne thrust Cryogenic Engine using Liquid Oxygen and Liquid Hydrogen propellant combination.

He played a vital role in the successful launch of GSLV Mk III vehicle in its maiden attempt last year from the spaceport of ISRO, Satish Dhawan Space Centre, SHAR, Sriharikota.

When India was denied the complex Cryogenic Propulsion Technology for GSLV Mk II vehicle, he played a crucial role in the successful development of Cryogenic Upper Stage (CUS) and made it operational for the GSLV Mk II vehicle, the release added.

Shri Narayanan an Outstanding Scientist, has guided the team and designed a 200 tonne thrust Lox-Kerosene Semi Cryogenic Rocket Engine.As Associate Director of LPSC, he was guiding the liquid propulsion activities of ISRO and was instrumental in finalising the Liquid Propulsion Roadmap of ISRO for the next 20 years.Narayanan is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FINAE) and Member of Space Propulsion Committee of International Astronautical Federation (IAF) and member in various national and international professional bodies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *