Status on development of New National Waterways

Status on development of New National Waterways

National Waterways -indianbureaucracy
National Waterways -indianbureaucracy

In addition to development of 5 National Waterways (NWs) (NW-1 to NW-5), development of 14 new NWs has been approved by the Government in the States of Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Goa, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra & Assam as detailed at Annex.-1.

Jawai-Luni-Rann of Kutch River System has been declared as National Waterway-48 for a total length of 615 km (205 km in Rajasthan & 410 km in Gujarat) under National Waterways Act, 2016 alongwith 111 NWs in the country. As per the final feasibility Report, NW-48 has not been found feasible for development for shipping and navigation.

There is no proposal to construct Bhawatraport and hence the question of time limit for its construction does not arise.

Annex.-1  List of new NWs sanctioned under Phase-I development

S/N National Waterways (NWs)
1. NW-8- Alappuzha-Changanassery Canal in Kerala
2. NW-9- Alappuzha-Athirampuza Canal in Kerala
3. NW-27-Cumberjua River in Goa
4. NW-68- Mandovi River in Goa
5. NW-111- Zuari River in Goa
6. NW-86- River Rupnarayan in West Bengal
7. NW-97- Sundarbans Waterways in West Bengal
8. NW-40- Ghaghra River in U.P. & Bihar
9. NW-44- Ichamati River in West Bengal
10. NW-10- Amba River in Maharashtra
11. NW-28-Dabhol Creek Vashisthi River in Maharashtra
12. NW-57- Kopili River in Assam
13. NW-31- Dhansiri River in Assam
14. NW-16- River Barak in Assam

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply