Setting up of NSD Centres


Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State for Culture and Tourism (Independent Charge) and Minister of State for Civil Aviation has informed that the National School of Drama (NSD) is located at New Delhi. However, under its Out-Reach/Extension Programme, three Centres are operating one each in Agartala (Tripura), Gangtok (Sikkim) and Bengaluru (Karnataka).

On the basis of the recommendations made by the Broad Based Committee for opening up of 5 regional centres across the country, NSD Society proposed to establish 5 regional centres one each at Kolkata, Mumbai/Goa, J&K, North-East beside upgrading the existing Regional Resource Centre (RRC), Bengaluru to a full-fledged regional centre. These regional centres were to be established in consultation with the concerned State Governments, who were required to provide accommodation for the purpose. Only the Government of Karnataka has allotted land for the purpose at Bengaluru.

Proposals have also been received from the State Governments for opening of Regional Centres at Rajahmundry in Andhra Pradesh and in Telangana. The NSD Society has decided to constitute a Committee to work out policy/modalities for opening such Centres.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.