Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards-2017

  1. 14th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas celebrations are being held in Bangalore from January 7-9,2017. PBD conventions are being held every year since 2003 and we have been honoring our Pravasis since the first edition.
  2. It was decided late last year to hold the PBD conventions after an interval of two years. Therefore, the number of awards to be conferred for PBD 2017 have been doubled to 30. The Jury cum Awards Committee can also make upto six suo-motto nominations for persons from the fields in which the awards are to be conferred. This year, the jury also considered Pravasi’s contribution for achievements on philanthropic investments and charitable work in India and for contribution towards India’s development.
  3. Nominations were invited in the prescribed format from all eligible categories of Overseas Indians/Organizations. The last date for receipt of nominations at the Ministry was 29th August 2016.
  4. The Jury-cum-Awards Committee, chaired by Hon’ble Vice-President, considered all the nominations for the PBSA. A list of 123 nominations that were found eligible as per the guidelines and another list of 55 nominations that were received late were presented for consideration of the Committee. The nominations were initially examined by a Screening Committee comprising of Officers from the Ministry of External Affairs.
  5. The Jury-cum-Awards Committee for Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards (PBSA) comprised of following members:
  6. Vice President of India-Chairman
  7. Hon’ble EAM , Vice-Chairman

iii. Shri Swapan Dasgupta, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha

  1. Principal Secretary to PM
  2. Dr. S. Jaishankar, Foreign Secretary
  3. Shri Rajeev Mehrishi, Home Secretary

vii. Shri Satish Chandra, former Ambassador of India to the USA

viii. Ms. Indra Noooyi CEO Pepsico

  1. Shri Yusuf Ali M.A. Managing Director, Lulu Group of Industries, UAE
  2. Shri Shyam Parande, Secretary, Antar Rashtriya Sahyog Parishad
  3. Shri Dnyaneshwar M. Mulay, Secretary (OIA & CPV) & Member Secretary
  1. The Jury members considered all eligible nominations and the relevant information placed before the Committee. After detailed discussions, thirty nominees were unanimously recommended by the Jury-cum-Awards Committee for Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2017 by the Committee on December 20,2016.

List of Pravasi Bharatiya Samman-2017 Awardees

S.NO. Name Country Field
1 Dr. Gorur Krishna Harinath Australia Community Service
2 . Mr. Rajasekharan Pillai Valavoor Kizhakkathil Bahrain Business
3 . Antwerp Indian Association Belgium Community Service
4 . Mr. Nazeer Ahamed Mohamed Zackiriah Brunei Community Service
5. Mr. Mukund Bhikhubhai Purohit Canada Business
6. Mr. Nalinkumar Sumanlal Kothari Djibouti Community Service
7. Mr. Vinod Chandra Patel Fiji Social Service
8. Mr. Raghunath Marie Antonin Manet France Arts & Culture
9. Dr. Lael Anson E. Best Israel Medical Science
10. Dr. Sandip Kumar Tagore Japan Arts & Culture
11. Mr. Ariful Islam Libya Community Service
12 . Tan Sri Dato Dr. Muniandy Thambirajah Malaysia Education and Community
13 . Hon’ble Mr. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth Mauritius Public Service
14 . H.E. Mr. Antonio Luis Santos da Costa Portugal Public Service
15 . Dr. Raghavan Seetharaman Qatar Business Management
16 . Ms. Zeenat Musarrat Jafri Saudi Arabia Education
17. Singapore Indian Association Singapore Community Service
18. Dr. Carani Balaraman Sanjeevi Sweden Medicine
19 . Mr. Susheel Kumar Saraff Thailand Business
20. Mr. Winston Chandarbhan Dookeran Trinidad & Tobago Public Service
21. Mr. Vasudev Shamdas Shroff United Arab Emirates Community Service
22 . India Social and Cultural Centre, Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates Philanthropy and Community Service
23 . Rt. Hon’ble Ms. Priti Patel United Kingdom Public Service
24 . Ms. Neena Gill United Kingdom Public Service
25 . Mr. Hari Babu Bindal USA Environmental Engineering
26 . Dr. Bharat Haridas Barai USA Community Service
27 . Ms. Nisha Desai Biswal USA Public Affairs
28 . Dr. Mahesh Mehta USA Community Service
29 . Mr. Ramesh Shah USA Community Service
30. Dr. Sampatkumar Shidramapa Shivangi USA

Community Leadership


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.