Pinarayi Vijayan to be next CM of Kerala

Pinarayi Vijayan -indianbureaucracy
Pinarayi Vijayan -indianbureaucracy

Pinarayi Vijayan will be the next chief minister of Kerala following the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front’s win in the Assembly elections, results for which were declared Thursday. Vijayan was elected leader of the victorious Left Democratic Front (LDF) legislature party in Thiruvananthapuram on Friday.

Earlier in the day, the Communist Party of India (Marxist)’s Kerala committee met in the presence of party chief Sitaram Yechury. It decided to nominate 72-year-old Vijayan as the next chief minister.

CPI (M) veteran V S Achutanandan, who was also in the race for the post, was called to the state secretariat and informed about the decision. Yechury said Achutanandan is the “Fidel Castro of Kerala and will continue to guide and inspire the party.”

In Kolkata, Mamata Banerjee was unanimously elected as the leader of Trinamool Congress legislature party at its meeting today. She is expected to take the oath of office on May 27.

While coming out of Raj Bhavan after meeting Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi, Banerjee said, “May 20 (today) is an auspicious day because it was on this day in 2011 our government took oath after the ‘poribortan’… So we have come today to meet the Governor and give him a letter on behalf of our party.”

As for the swearing in of Bharatiya Janata Party’s chief ministerial candidate for Assam, newly-elected party legislators will meet in Guwahati on May 22 to elect Sarbananda Sonowal as the leader of the legislature party. The new BJP legislators today informally met under the leadership of 53-year-old Sonowal, who is currently the Union Minister of Sports.

The new government will be sworn in on May 24 here in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, all the chief ministers of NDA, including those in the north-east, besides senior central BJP ministers, party leader Himanta Biswa Sarma said. Sonowal on Friday held a meeting with the Assam Director General of Police and other senior police officials.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.