Ministry of Finance | Status on Disinvestment of CPSEs


PIB News Update: During the current financial year, through the ETF mode, Further Fund Offer (FFO) -5 and FFO-6 of CPSE-ETF yielded Rs 10,000.39 crore and Rs 16,500 crore in July 2019 and January 2020 respectively. FFO-2 of Bharat-22 ETF fetched Rs 4,368 crore in October 2019. In aggregate, ETFs have yielded Rs. 30,868.39 crore in 2019-20. This was stated by Shri Anurag Singh Thakur, Union Minister of State for Finance & Corporate Affairs, in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.

Giving more details, Shri Thakur stated that the policy of disinvestment of minority stake without transfer of management control is being followed through various SEBI-approved methods such as Initial Public Offer (IPO), Offer for Sale (OFS), Buyback of shares and Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) offers. Disinvestment is an ongoing process. Timing of disinvestment transaction depends on the prevailing market condition and the investors’ interest.

Shri Thakur further said that at present, Bharat 22 ETF consists of equity of 15 CPSEs, 3 PSU banks and 3 private companies. The net shares of Govt. in CPSEs included in the Bharat-22 ETF are given below:


Serial No. CPSEs Net share of Govt. of India
Bharat Electronics Ltd 51.13%
Bharat Petroleum Corp Ltd 52.98%
Coal India Ltd 66.14%
Engineers India Ltd 51.50%
Gail India Ltd 51.76%
Indian Oil Corp Ltd 51.50%
National Aluminium Co Ltd 51.50%
NBCC (India) Ltd 61.75%
NHPC Ltd 70.95%
NLC India Ltd 79.20%
NTPC Ltd 51.02%
Oil & Natural Gas Corp Ltd 60.41%
Power Finance Corp Ltd 55.99%
Power Grid Corp of India Ltd 51.34%
SJVN Ltd 59.92%



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.