C-DOT celebrates World Telecom Day

C-DOT celebrates World Telecom Day


To commemorate the World Telecommunication and Information Society Day, C-DOT, the premier Telecom R&D Centre of the Department of Telecommunications (DoT), Government of India celebrates and announces special Initiatives “NIDHI” & “STAR Program” for the development of indigenous telecom solutions & technologies.

C-DOT , World Telecom Day


These initiatives aim to promote a culture of synergetic innovation for indigenous development by collaboration with academia, startup and industries to co-create indigenous telecom products/solutions to meet telecom needs of India in strategic, rural and sectors of national importance.

Women in India are making advances in multiple areas across ICT and STEM (Science, technology, Engineering, Mathematics) and contributing to software development, engineering and technology. To further encourage the entrepreneurship and innovation C-DOT launches “NIDHI”.

The applications, under “NIDHI” are open to DPIIT (Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade) recognized startups led by women The top 10 selected startups will be provided necessary support including funding and assistance. This will include an initial grant of 10 lakh INR each, access to well-furnished office space for a period of 6 months, access to tools & Lab facilities, mentorship from C-DOT technical leaders and an opportunity for future collaboration under C-DOT Collaborative Research Program. For more information visit


Through STAR” Program C-DOT offers scholarship to PhD student one each from the top 20 NIRFimage001KZJN (National Institute Ranking Framework) ranking engineering institute. The program offers a scholarship amount of INR 6 Lakh per annum to the selected scholar for a period of up to four years. The selected students will be extended mentorship from research leaders of C-DOT and access to lab facilities. Twelve PhD Students, from Anna University, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Thapar University, NIT Surathkal, IIT Gandhinagar, IIT Hyderabad, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Kanpur, IIT Indore, IIT Bombay, IIT Guwahati, IIT Delhi, were issued scholarship approval letters today.

Dr. Rajkumar Upadhyay, CEO C-DOT, during the launch of two new initiatives on “World Telecom Day”, 17th May, 2024


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply