15 women among 43 scientists felicitated by ICMR

JP Nadda
JP Nadda

43 scientists were facilitated for their immense contribution in the field of communicable and non-communicable diseases, maternal and child health and various other medical and biomedical fields by Shri J P Nadda Union Minister for Health and Family Welfare.

ICMR has been asked by the ministry to list 10 major challenges in the field of healthcare in India and to find local solutions of those challenges. Dr. Soumya Swaminathan,_DG_ICMR_IndianBureaucracySpeaking at the occasion, Dr. Soumya Swaminathan, DG, ICMR and Secretary, Dept. of Health Research stated that ICMR will now work with AYUSH Ministry to harness the rich knowledge of traditional medicine systems. The collaboration of allopathy and traditional medicine systems will be vastly beneficial to people, she said.

ICMR offers array of awards in bio-medical sciences. Majority of the awards are annual while few are being given on alternate years. In addition to the awards given for meritorious work carried out by scientists in a particular field of science, there are number of awards to recognize and adorn the scientific talent of young scientists. There are specific awards to encourage the scientists working in the underdeveloped parts of the country and also the scientists belonging to the underprivileged communities and championing the cause of their section of the society. An exclusive award is also given to women scientists to acknowledge their contribution. This time 15 women scientists were awarded for their scientific work.

Also present on the occasion were Shri Ajit Sharan, Secretary AYUSH, Lt. Gen B K Chopra, Dr M C Mishra, Director AIIMS, New Delhi.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.