Thawaarchand Gehlot Announces 90 Lakh Cash Awards for Rio Paralympics 2016 Medal Winners


Shri Thawaarchand Gehlot, Minister of Social Justice & Empowerment today announced Cash awards of a total of Rs 90 lakhs for the Rio Paralympics 2016 Medal Winners under Awareness Generation and Publicity (AGP) scheme.

“Indian para-athletes bagged impressive four medals at the Rio Paralympics 2016 and made history. The success of para athletes has made India proud. The department has decided to award cash prize of total Rs 90 lakh to medal winners,” said Shri Thawaarchand Gehlot.

Gold medal winner Shri Mariyappan Thangavelu and Shri Devendra Jhajharia will be awarded Rs 30 lakh cash prize, Silver medallist Ms. Deepa Malik will be facilitated with Rs 20 lakh and Shri Varun Singh Bhati will be honoured with Rs 10 lakh for winning bronze medal at the Rio Paralympics 2016.

A special felicitation programme will be organised in gracious presence of Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Shri Thawaarchand Gehlot as the Chief Gauest.

It is worth mentioning that It was India’s best ever performance in Parlympics history. Mariyappan Thangavelu made a leap of 1.89 metres to bag the gold medal while Bhati jumped his personal best of 1.86m to finish third and won Bronze. Devendra Jhajharia clinched Gold in Javelin throw while Deepa Malik bagged Silver in historic short put (first ever Indian women to win a medal at the Paralympics Games).

More than 4400 athletes from 160 countries participated at the Rio Paralympics 2016 held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from Sep 7-18, 2016.

On the best ever performance of Indian Paralympians, Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has already hailed the efforts of para-athletes in his monthly radio programme ‘Mann Ki Baat’ on 25th September, 2016.

India sent its biggest-ever contingent of 19 athletes to the Rio Paralympics 2016

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.