Thaawarchand Gehlot reviews Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana


Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot, Union Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment reviewed the implementation progress of the Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY) in the Central Advisory Committee meeting . Shri Gehlot said that so far an amount of Rs.201 crore has been released to the 5 pilot States and Rs.228.97 crore to States in the extended phase. The minister also said that following the success of the scheme in the 1000 pilot villages in Assam, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu, it is now extended to further 1500 Scheduled Caste majority villages in Assam, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Odisha, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh.

About PMAGY:

Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY) is a Centrally sponsored scheme which is implemented by the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment for integrated development of Scheduled Caste majority villages having Scheduled Caste population of more than 50%.

The scheme aims to achieve integrated development of SC majority villages through convergent implementation of relevant schemes and providing gap filling funds to take up activities which do not get covered under existing schemes.  The major components of integrated development of villages under PMAGY are:

(i)                 Physical infrastructure such as construction of roads, street lighting, access to safe drinking water;

(ii)               Sanitation and environment;

(iii)             Social infrastructure, human development and social harmony; and

(iv)             Livelihood.

The meeting was attended by select Members of Parliament, representatives from concerned subject matter Ministries, National Institute of Rural Development and experts.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.