PM dedicates Parbati–III Power Station at Mandi

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi dedicates the NHPC's Parbati Hydro Power Project to the nation, at a function, in Mandi, Himachal Pradesh October 18, 2016. The Governor of Himachal Pradesh, Shri Acharya Devvrat, the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, Shri Virbhadra Singh and other dignitaries are also seen.

Honourable Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi today dedicated Parbati-III Power Station (520 MW) of NHPC to the nation during a function held at Mandi, Himachal Pradesh in the august presence of Shri Acharya Devvrat, Honourable Governor of Himachal Pradesh, Shri Virbhadra Singh, Honourable Chief Minister, Himachal Pradesh, Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, Honourable Union Minister for Health and Family Welfare, Shri Piyush Goyal, Honourable Union Minister for State (I/c) for Power, Coal, New and Renewable Energy and Mines, Shri Sujan Singh Pathania, Honourable Minister of MPP & Power, Government of Himachal Pradesh, Honourable Members of Parliament Shri Virender Kashyap, Shri Ram Swaroop Sharma, officials of from Govt. of India and HP and other dignitaries during the function. BHEL who has supplied E&M equipment for the project was represented by CMD BHEL. Shri K. M. Singh, Chairman and Managing Director NHPC, Shri Balraj Joshi, Director (Technical), NHPC and other senior officials of NHPC were also present on the occasion. Two other power projects, Koldam (800 MW) of NTPC and Rampur (412 MW) of SJVNL were also dedicated to the nation in the same function.

NHPC is a premier organization in the country in the field of development of hydroelectric projects. A total installed capacity of 6667 MW is under operation, which includes 2 projects with a total installed capacity of 1520 MW in Joint Venture. There are 4 projects (3180 MW) under construction including 50 MW Wind Project in Jaisalmer.

Parbati-III Power Station is a run of the river scheme having a 43m high rockfill dam, underground Power House and 10.58 km long water conductor system. A net head of 326meter is utilized to run four vertical Francis turbines with an installed capacity of 520 MW (4×130 MW). The power plant is designed to generate 1963.29 Million Units annually. The power generated from the Parbati-III Power Station is distributed to beneficiary states i.e. Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan and Union Territory of Chandigarh. The Power Station is supplying 13% free power to home state i.e. 12% as home state share and 1% for Local Area Development fund. Rs 34.57 crore has been spent for Local Area Development, Rs 10.18 crore has been spent under CSR and various community development works. Further in a bid to promote education sector for HP NHPC shall provide Rs 62.5 crore under CSR for establishing a Hydro Engineering College at Bilaspur. The completion cost of the project is around Rs 2600 crore and as on 30.09.2016 the total power generation is 1880 MU with revenue realization of Rs 816 crore.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.