PetroFed Oil & Gas Industry Awards 2014

Petrofed awards
Petrofed awards

The Annual PetroFed Oil & Gas Industry Awards for 2014 for excellence in performance in 11 categories were presented by Shri Dharmendra Pradhan  for performance during the financial year 2013-14. He  commended the apex hydrocarbon industry association, PetroFed for instituting the awards in 2007 to recognise and nurture talent and excellence in the oil & gas industry operating in India. He emphasized on the need to enhance domestic production of oil & gas and achieve the target of reducing import dependence by 10% by 2022.

Secretary, Petroleum & Natural Gas, Shri K. D. Tripathi also the guest of honour , lauded the PetroFed initiative and  congratulated the award winners.

Welcoming invitees, Chairman, PetroFed and Chairman, Indian Oil Shri B. Ashok highlighted the need for keeping the spirit of healthy competition alive through such awards. While giving a brief about the awards the DG , PetroFed Shri A. K. Arora pointed out that the awards were reviewed every year for improvement and all companies operating in India in the oil & gas sector were eligible without any application fee.
All awardees were presented a trophy and a citation. Indian Oil Corporation Limited bagged the Leading Oil & Gas Corporate of the Year award for the fourth time in eight years. It also bagged the Oil & Gas Marketing – Company of the Year and the Human Resources Management – Company of the Year awards. In the new award category, Game Changer – Oil & Gas Company of the Year, they were conferred a Special Commendation jointly with LanzaTech Inc. in recognition of their special effort for ‘Pioneering R&D’ in production of omega fatty acids by algae using acetates produced by fermentation of carbon dioxide. The Woman Executive of the Year award was bagged by Ms. Mamoni Basumatary, Senior Manager (Technical Services) from IndianOil’s Guwahati Refinery.
The Innovator of the Year – Team award was bagged by Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited for their indigenous development and commercial application of cost effective gasoline sulphur reduction catalyst additive for Fluid Catalytic Cracking using spent FCC catalyst in refineries. The team was led by the Head of their Corporate R&D Centre, Shri Sanjay Bhargava . In the Innovator of the Year – Individual category a Special Commendation was conferred on Shri Gnana Kumaraswamy Batta, Senior Geophysicist, Oil India Limited for his innovation on utilising low frequency seismic data interpretation for locating subsurface oil & gas and reducing exploration risk. Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited won the awards for Exploration & Production – Company of the Year and Project Management (Rs. 500-2000 crore) for their Cluster-7 project involving construction and installation of five new well platforms at Mumbai High Offshore and laying of 19 segments of rigid sub-sea pipelines of about 198 km with associated modification at existing platforms and a new Pipeline End Manifold.

The Oil & Gas Pipeline Transportation – Company of the Year award was bagged by Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited while the Environmental Sustainability – Company of the Year was chosen to be Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited.

The award winners were selected through a rigorous process of collation by knowledge partner PricewaterhouseCoopers, evaluation by the Awards Committee led by Dr. Prodipto Ghosh, Distinguished Fellow, TERI and former Secretary to the Government of India, and selection thereafter by an eminent Jury headed by the former Chief Justice of India, Hon’ble Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah. The other two members of the Jury are Dr. Anil Kakodkar, former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Shri Naresh Narad, former Chairman, Public Enterprises Selection Board and Secretary to the Government of India.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.