Moon Jae-in sworn as 19th president of South Korea

Moon Jae-in sworn ,19th president ,South Korea-indian bureaucracy
Moon Jae-in sworn ,19th president ,South Korea-indian bureaucracy

The newly elected President of South Korea, Moon Jae-in, has been sworn in as 19th President of the country. Mr. Moon took the oath of office, a day after his liberal Democratic Party’s decisive victory in a snap election called to find a replacement for Park Geun-hye, who was ousted in March over a corruption scandal.

Soon after the swearing in ceremony, Mr. Moon, in a departure from current policy, said he would be willing to visit North Korea in the right circumstances. South Korean President said he is ready to negotiate with China and the United States over a controversial anti-missile defense system.

Moon won about 40 percent of yesterday’s vote, defeating his rivals — Hong Joon-pyo of the conservative Liberty Korea Party and Ahn Cheol-soo of the centrist People’s Party.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.