Ministry of Railways signs MoU with Government of Odisha


Ministry of Railways signed MoU with Government of Odisha For Cost Sharing of Two New Railway Line Projects in Odisha. This was signed in the presence of Shri Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister for Railways and Shri Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister of Odisha. On this occasion Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Shri Jual Oram, Union Minister for Tribal Affairs and Member of Parliament from Odisha were also present. The signatories of the MoU were Shri SC Jain, ED Works from Ministry of Railways and Shri Sanjeev Rastogi, Principal Secretary, Government of Odisha. The MoU was signed for sharing cost of laying two new lines in Odisha viz. Jeypore – Malkangiri and Jeypore – Nabarangpur.

The two new line projects viz. Jeypore- Nabarangpur and Jeypore- Malkangiri was included by Indian Railways in the Railway budget 2016-17 subject to requisite approvals from the Odisha government. Government of Odisha has agreed to partly bear the cost of these projects as detailed below:

  • JEYPORE – MALKANGIRI (130 Km)- 25% of total cost
  • JEYPORE – NABARANGPUR (38 Km)- entire land cost and 50% cost of construction.

Speaking on the occasion Shri Suresh Prabhu said that Orissa is a focus state for Indian Railways. The speed of implementation of projects will take Odisha ahead in rail connectivity. Odisha has minerals, tourism potential, etc. But development is lacking due to lack of connectivity. State Government alone cannot bring in connectivity. So Indian Railways is doing its part to improve the connectivity in Odisha. To improve the connectivity infrastructure in a particular state, Indian Railways is now forming Joint Venture with that State Government. Sharing of ownership will lead to more leverage in creating connectivity in the State. 11 Railway Stations including Bhubaneswar in Odisha is planned to be taken for Railway Station Redevelopment. Indian Railways is planning ways of developing Odisha as a tourism hub through IRCTC. Indian Railways through its PSU, IRCTC has also planned to market products of tribal SHGs in Odisha. Indian Railways has also planned to open a Rail Factory in Kalahandi.

Shri Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister of Odisha has said that Odisha occupies an important place on the map of Indian Railways. For the first time an all time high of Rs. 4880 Crore has been provided to Odisha. He also said that the rail connectivity in Odisha is way less than the national average and he is glad that this Government has given priority to his state for improving the rail connectivity. The two projects viz, Jeypore – Malkangiri and Jeypore – Nabarangpur will serve the most backward, Naxal affected and tribal areas of the state. Odisha Government will be providing land free of cost for these projects.

Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Union Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas has said that these projects will connect the Western Odisha for the first time. Development in Western Odisha was lacking only due to the lack of connectivity and this project will help in boosting the development in this part of the state.

Shri Jual Oram, Union Minister for Tribal Affairs has said that this project will connect the most backward areas of the state and bring in the development to the tribal people of the area. These project will help the tribal people in selling their products to faraway places and help in their development.

Detailed Project Report (DPR) for JEYPORE – NABARANGPUR has been prepared while the same for JEYPORE – MALKANGIRI is under preparation. Once the DPRs are examined by Ministry of Railways, requisite approvals will be sought.

Salient features of new BG line  between Jeypore – Malkangiri (130 km)

The proposed new railway line between  Jeypore – Malkangiri will serve the remote areas of Koraput and Malkangiri districts of Western Odisha, which have no railway connectivity. Entire line will be passing through hilly terrain and thick forests.

The important towns en-route are Boipariguda, Tanginiguda, Maithili, Pandripani Road. The total Route Km of the proposed new line is 130 Km connecting district headquarters of Koraput and Malkangiri. Out of 130 Km of this route, 45 Km falls in Koraput District and 85 Km in Malkangiri District. The alignment passes through 12 stations including three passenger halts at Tanginiguda, Govindapalli & Maithili.

The line is proposed with overhead electrification, standard-III interlocking,  Multi Aspect Color Light Signaling (MACLS) and Optic fiber communication.

Construction of new line involves about 4,00 lakh cum of earth work in formation, 98 bridges (22 major, 61 minor & 15 RUBs). Level crossings have been eliminated by proposing all road crossings with Limited height subways (7 Nos), ROBs (15 Nos) and RUBs.   There are four nos. of Tunnels comprising a total length of 2600m approximately at location of very deep cuttings.

Salient Features Of New BG Line  Between Jeypore – Nabarangpur (38 Km)      

The area from Jeypore to Nabarangpur is well irrigated by canals.  The important town en- route is Boriguma, approximately 18 Km from Jeypore, i.e. almost half way to Nabarangpur.   There are five railway stations including two passenger halts at Ambaguda Road and Kaliaguda.

Construction of new line involve about 98 lakh cum of earth work in formation, 60 bridges (9 major, 40 minor & 11 RUBs).  Level crossing have been eliminated by proposing all road crossings with Limited height subways and RUBs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.