Justice J S Khehar takes oath as 44th Chief Justice of India


The President on Monday appointed Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar as the 44th Chief Justice of India from January 4, 2017.

The incumbent Chief Justice T.S. Thakur on December 6, 2016 communicated his recommendation to the government to appoint Justice Khehar. Justice Thakur retires on January 3, 2017 after a tenure of a year. Though the government notification informing the President’s clearance of Justice Khehar as next Chief Justice of India comes close to the swearing-in day, the decades-old convention of following the seniority norm has been duly complied with.The President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee administering the oath of office to Shri Justice J.S. Khehar, as Chief Justice of India, at a swearing-in ceremony, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on January 04, 2017.

Justice Khehar, who led the Constitution Bench which scrapped the government’s National Judicial Appointments Commission law, will be the first Chief Justice from the Sikh community. Justice Khehar will have a tenure for over seven months till August 28, 2017. He assumed office as a judge of the Supreme Court on September 13, 2011.

Justice Khehar headed the bench which had set aside the imposition of President’s Rule in Arunachal Pradesh in January 2016.

IndianBureaucracy.com wishes Justice J S Khehar the very best.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.