PM’s 15 Point Programme for Minorities Welfare

Narendra Modi -indianbureaucracy
Narendra Modi -indianbureaucracy

The Prime Minister’s New 15 Point Programme for the welfare of minorities is an overarching programme, covering 24 schemes/ initiatives of 11 different Ministries / Departments implemented throughout the country, including Andhra Pradesh. In order to ensure that the benefits of various Government schemes flow equitably to minorities, this programme stipulates location of a certain proportion of development projects in minority concentration areas. It also provides that, wherever possible, 15% of targets and outlays under various schemes should be earmarked for minorities. Some of the schemes/ initiatives under this programme are exclusively for minority communities. The details of schemes / initiatives covered under the programme, being implemented in Andhra Pradesh since inception is:-

Details of schemes / initiatives covered under the Prime Minister’s New 15 Point Programme (PM’s New 15-PP):

(a) Schemes considered amenable to earmarking of 15% for minorities:

i. Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (Ministry of Human Resources Development);

ii. Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS) Scheme providing services through Anganwadi Centres (Ministry of Women & Child);

iii. National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) (erstwhile Swarnjayanti Gram Swarojgar Yojana / Aajeevika) (Ministry of Rural Development);

iv. National Urban Livelihoods Mission (NULM) (erstwhile Swarn Jayanti Shahari Rojgar Yojana) (Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation);

v. Industrial Training Institutes (ITIs) (Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship);

vi. Bank credit under priority sector lending (Department of Financial Services);


vii. Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) (Ministry of Rural Development).

(b) Schemes for minorities implemented by the M/o Minority Affairs (100% Budget provision meant for minorities):

i. Pre-Matric Scholarship scheme;

ii. Post-Matric Scholarship scheme;

iii. Merit-cum-Means Scholarship scheme for technical & professional courses;

iv. Maulana Azad National Fellowship for Minority Students;

v. Loan schemes of National Minority Development & Finance Corporation (NMDFC) for economic activities;

vi. Schemes of Maulana Azad Education Foundation (MAEF) for promotion of education; and

vii. Free Coaching and Allied scheme.

(c) Schemes for which flow of funds to minority concentration areas is quantified:

Integrated Housing and Slum Development Programme (IHSDP) (Ministry of HUPA);

i. Basic Services for Urban Poor (BSUP) (Ministry of HUPA);

ii. Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT) (Ministry of Urban Development);

iii. Urban Infrastructure and Governance (UIG) (Ministry of Urban Development); and

iv. National Rural Drinking Water Programme (NRDWP) (Ministry of Drinking Water & Sanitation).

(d) Special Initiatives for welfare of minorities:

i. Scheme for Providing Quality Education in Madarsa (SPQEM) (Department of School Education & Literacy);

ii. Scheme for Infrastructure Development of Minority Institutions (IDMI) (Department of School Education & Literacy );

iii. Greater Resources for Teaching Urdu – Scheme for Appointment of Language Teachers (Deptt. of School Education & Literacy);

iv. Recruitment of minorities in Govt. Departments/ Organizations (Deptt. of Personnel & Training); and

v. Guidelines on communal harmony (Ministry of Home Affairs).

The programmes/ schemes under Prime Minister’s New 15 Point Programme for the Welfare of Minorities (PM’s New 15-PP) are being implemented by various Ministries/ Departments administratively concerned with implementation of those programmes/ schemes. Many of these schemes are being implemented through the State Governments / UT Administrations. Ministry of Minority Affairs, being the nodal Ministry for implementation of the PM’s New 15-PP, monitors and reviews these programmes. The schemes / programme are reviewed in the Ministry of Minority Affairs on quarterly basis with the nodal officers of the concerned Ministries / Departments for effective implementation of schemes. The shortfalls, if any, are pointed out and the concerned Ministries/ Departments are advised to take remedial actions to ensure that the targets are achieved. The progress of schemes is also reported to the Committee of Secretaries and the Cabinet.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.